RSS

High Risks Equals High Reward

06 May

By Corrie Lingenfelter


Sleepy Green leads a no sleep lifestyle. He is the CEO of the fashion and promoting company No Sleep Lifestyle. His swag is on fleek as he is dressed in his own No Sleep brand t-shirt and crisp dark blue jeans finished off by clean looking tan timberland boots. A smile that kills and energy that will wake anyone up. His voice calm and full of optimism as he explains this journey of showing us that not all black men’s stories end in tragedy.




Sleepy Green leads a no sleep lifestyle. He is the CEO of the fashion and promoting company No Sleep Lifestyle. His swag is on fleek as he is dressed in his own No Sleep brand t-shirt and crisp dark blue jeans finished off by clean looking tan timberland boots. A smile that kills and energy that will wake anyone up. His voice calm and full of optimism as he explains this journey of showing us that not all black men’s stories end in tragedy.

We hear and see news of the unjustified killings of young black men in several cities. The riots and the peaceful protests in lower class areas. Sleepy Green’s story reminds us you can make it in America. “You just have to remain positive and not be afraid to take risks because high risks always equals high rewards!” states Green in an uplifting tone and smile on his face.
Born as Devon Green and raised in a single parent household in the north Philadelphia area. Green has seen a lot of poverty and drug abuse. “I remember the people that didn’t have anything and it helps keep me humble and lets me give back in the way of helping my community and mentoring youngsters who are going down a negative path.” “The pain I endured in my upbringing keeps me strong, balanced, and ambitious.” states Green in a serious, but softer tone.

Waking up one day and realizing he wanted more. Devon decided it was time for a huge change. In 2004 after getting a degree at Shippensburg University, he headed to Atlanta. “I had 1,000 cash, a TV and some clothes.” In a high pitched voice remembering what his mom’s reaction was to all this he goes on to state, “She said, boy you crazy? You have nowhere to stay and barely any money. How are you going to make this a lifestyle?”

“I surrounded myself with positive people and positive energy. I worked for corporate America but realized there is so much more to me than working for someone else.” Sleepy then started throwing his own events and branching his clothing line out to bigger audiences. “My friend had told me one time, wow you really live a no sleep lifestyle and it was then I looked up the name and saw that no one was using it and decided in a city that never sleeps this is the perfect logo and name of my company.”
Fast forward 11 years later and after many sleepless nights, Sleepy Green has arrived. “I am launching my new website here in about two weeks and also have the new spring/summer line launch as well. Also I am getting ready to host one of our bigger events. The No Sleep South Beach Party of 2015.” As you can see Sleepy Green has really woken us up to the fact that not everyone’s story ends where it began.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2015 in Feature Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
