RSS

Curfew lifts in Baltimore, effects still impact area

06 May

By Corrie Lingenfelter


waot

A rundown CVS Pharmacy shows the damaged caused to the Baltimore area.


The daily curfew implemented in Baltimore following the violent protests of the death of Freddie Gray, was lifted on Sunday by the city’s mayor hours before hundreds of demonstrators came to City Hall for a peace rally.

“I have rescinded my order instituting a city-wide curfew. I want to thank the people of Baltimore for their patience,” announced Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake on Twitter. “My goal has always been to not have the curfew in place a single day longer than was necessary. I believe we have reached that point today,” Rawlings-Blake said. The 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew had been in effect for five nights. Looking around at the aftermath of these protests one can see the city is a shell of it’s former self. On top of this citizens daily lives were interrupted not only by the riots but the curfew itself.

A Harrisburg local, Clarence Brown tells us just how much of an impact the curfew has not only on people of Baltimore but citizens who work and have lived there. ” I just moved here from Baltimore about three weeks ago but I still commute for my job until I fully transfer up here.” he states. “The week of the curfew made it very hard because not only was I not allowed to work overtime, but I had the chance of getting arrested if being on the street after ten.” Some business owners were not aware that their employees had to have a written notice in order for the police to verify why they were out past  curfew. This also leaves the question of how much of an effect did the actual protests and riots have on the city.

A further look we see that people of the community found the riots disrespectful and uncalled for. Sierra Payne, a former resident of Carlisle said, “I just moved back to Baltimore at the beginning of the year and all I saw were children acting out and media portraying this city I grew up in to be one of the worst in America. It was all very sad.” She goes on to add, “As a black woman I was not entertained to joined in the riots or the protests because I saw that it wasn’t making a change, it was actually bringing our city down and halting people getting to work, getting food and items from the grocery stores, and children feeling uneasy about going to school.” As you can see the people of Baltimore and the people of our community are still seeing and dealing with the aftermath of last weeks happenings.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2015 in Hard News

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
